Allgold Coins

Skip to Main Content »

Search Site

You're currently on:

Queen Victoria - Young Head Sovereigns (St George reverse 1871 - 1887)

The Young head series of sovereigns were produced from 1871 and continued until 1887 when the obverse image was changed to the Jubilee Head bust.

The main mint in London and the Branch mints in Sydney and Melbourne produced these coins, The bust itself was created and engraved by William Wyon of the Royal Mint, This is what the "W W" stands for the truncation of the image.

The Coins obverse has the writing "VICTORIA D:G: BRITANNIAR: REG: F:D:", DG and FD are abbreviations, DG is the shortened version of Dei Gratia, Which is to say the monarch is recognised by god himself, Every coin (with exception of the godless gothic crown) carries this title. FD or FID:DEF/ Fidei Defensor is a title that stems from the reign of Henry VIII and translates to Defender of the faith. Finaly Reg is short for Regina which is Latin for Queen.

All gold coins from Britain and its empire of this era carried the Young head bust of Victoria.


Click on year to view more information about each Sovereign
1871 1880   As well as gold sovereigns, Gold £2 and £5 pieces were also struck, Although the sovereign and half sovereign were the main gold coinage of the day.

During this period Melbourne and Sydney (And London up to 1874) were striking shield type sovereigns along side the St George types, After 1887 the Shield would only continue to appear on half sovereigns until the 1890s.

The 1887 St George reverse sovereign was struck with both the young head and the Jubilee head busts, So this year will show up in both head types

1872 1881
1873 1882
1874 1883
1875 1884
1876 1885
1877 1886
1878 1887
Other Links